Secrets

Warmest, warmest hello to you my people 🙂

Hope you are having a sunny day today, if not, please turn that frown upside down :

we are lucky we woke up this morning. Yes, and i remembered that today cause i attended my yoga session last night, and made it there ahead of time, so i sat in the most chilling lounge ever, grabbed a book full of quotes (a really good one actually) that was just lying there, and  i read things like these:

“no marriage is perfect” (that wasn’t applicable to me but stuck in my head for some reason :O perhaps cause  i was meant to write it out here to you, where you’d find it more applicable..

you do not always have to succeed

do not ignore your mistakes and failures” .. you get the idea;

So, i have a secret to share:

We have the biggest Marathon held in Lebanon upcoming tomorrow Sunday Nov.13, 2016 organized by Beirut Marathon Association, and i was signed up by my university coach as a runner on the Relay Team for 21km (split between two runners).

What everyone now knows, is that i am to run tomorrow, and that i am an athletic person, i train on my own, always have, for the love of it, not for a championship or anything like that.

However, what everyone is missing and what i am not talking about is this:

a) It is the first time ever that i am given the chance to run under a certain TEAM; it feels so accountable, but so amazing to know they are there , for ME, truly, even if just for moral support, cause i had to miss the team training this week due to work obligations.

And as i just write to you, my coach calls, checking on me just now and fixing last minute logisitcs.. and moral 🙂 🙂

b) I am dead scared , i have butterflies in my stomach, nervous about my performance and if i will be able to actually complete the run.

I do not expect to come first, i did begin pacing UP my training only shortly before the marathon..but i want to run and finish saying, i did indeed put y best into it.

In my head, i’m trying to play the mental game, as i remind myself:

it’s all in the head Joy, all in the head. I mean, you trained as much as you could juggle as you currently have two jobs, a third part time one, and a lot on hand, and classes to prepare to your students. So as you get yourself to that track tomorrow, just think positive, think that you are there to do the best that  you can, to the best that you can be to that new team i joined… 

I hope that’ll be enough ? I mean, our minds do surrender before our physique, and we know that from people who struggle or have struggled with terminal illnesses or horrible abuses.. right? Do you think it’ll be enough to maximize my performance?

Aaaahh , i hope it is, and my job is to maintain my positivity throughout the marathon. Right. That’s what i’ll try to do.

That’s about it, just needed some moral support and put myself out here for you. I’m all ears to how you guys sometimes make it work when you have something you are doing or the first time coming up ?

I’ll love you and leave you now as  I feel time constraint is taking its toll on me; i had promised to counsel a student this afternoon in her applications to the USA for a major in Arts, just cause i felt a genuine drive to do that.

wordsIn addition, Lebanon is in deep need of guidance to students, college and high school students who just leave school or get into university majors just because their parents picked their majors for them or just because they were never given a realistic  idea about what’s really out there for them, nor were they granted the opportunity to show their talent, what they are best at, or what they could be best at.

Okay, really gotta run, to prep tips that may help my student in a couple hours time.

Take good care of YOUrself, you cannot give or give more from an empty glass;)

Truly yours,

Joy

Nov.12, 2016 at 12.49pm

Leave a Reply

