The 10,000 Lebanese Pounds Note that made his Day

Hello my beautiful people!

I wouldn’t rate this Lesson of my Week as my deepest one, but rather, more interestingly, it holds a trivial incident but a huge impact- it showed me

How much  “everything” we do, impacts others; a little kindness goes a long way too:

Remember our shared slogan among others here: it’s the little things in life.. ?

I just popped into a coffee shop and ordered my Earl Grey Tea.

I settled the bill, received my change, and packed it in my purse, waiting for my order.

 

I went to settle in, plugged in my laptop, and something lingered in my mind:

I think the barista gave me the wrong change”.. my mind was thinking out loud, very loudly!

I checked my purse again and looked at the bill and the change given out;

I genuinely couldn’t remember if i reached for the 10,000 Lebanese Pounds [LBP] note (equivalent to 6.67USD) or the 20,000LBP note (equivalent to 13.33USD) to settle my tea invoice of 4USD.

I felt weird as i tried to recall what exactly I handed out, then I waited until the queue faded, and went up to the till (cash register) to the same barista who served my tea, Ray, and I said:

Can i please ask you to have a cash count” … and i told him of my suspicion that he might have given out the wrong change.

Ray was surprised, and reassured me to return to my seat as his superior and himself check the issue.

5 minute later, Ray passes by my table and heartily says,

 

“Very very few are like you.. Thank you, immensely so. […]” 

 

He had the broadest, largest, most genuine smile in the history of smiles – EVER! That Relief!

I had given him the 6.67USD note and it turned out to be missing from his Cash as he gave me the miscalculated change.

For my entire stay in that coffee shop, Ray was roaming around tables relieved, happy-look on his face, taking extra care of anything i might need as well.

I made his day.

And He was my sign today June 22nd. Who was yours?

Who’s day did you make?

Hint: It’s not about the value of material things you give away, share, or give back- it’s the priceless value you carry to others through these!

i am sure if you dig a little in the details of your day when you have a minute or two to self-reflect (a habit that saved my life since my accident in December 2014), you’ll find your someone.

IMG_1915

 

We all need a little goodness in our life;

I feel amazing, with a 10,000LBP Note-incident yes, which these days really does not buy you anything of value in Lebanon.

I also Know, there’s Karma and there’s Life is generous … always, if you be generous, always.

All these little things are stories that will make the history of other individuals in your life, close or farther.

Maybe we might see them, maybe we won’t again, but i believe in the universe’s crossed paths and patterns.

So far, it has shown me that ALL THINGS are intertwined, in ways we are yet able to grasp as humans and inhabitants of this Earth, but every one act you do or live through today, is reflected differently in the life of the person(s) on the other end of your extremity, or on the other end of the world.

So, please! have Faith, life is interconnected, have integrity and kindness in you whilst you be you, it’s our nature! Everybody deserves kindness, it’s a public good, not a private possession or right.

PS:

In the lines of the above message, I had an important interview today, and the professional public/servant and ex-investment banker i met earlier told me something I’ll hold on to,

“We are all similar in our human love/sense for justice” [in our societies, homes, in our country].”

 

With all my love,

Joy

June 22, 2016; 2.58pm

2 thoughts on “The 10,000 Lebanese Pounds Note that made his Day

Leave a Reply

