Wake up Call

Hello my people,

I rushed to work early this morning, planning on staying ahead (on top) of any upcoming tasks/meetings/lessons etc., but then,

a short WatsAp message from a very very dear friend and mentor shared in the pic below, shook me up as in really woke me up to what i am/was doing in this life for the past year appprox.

I need you to read this as well, we are more alike than we can ever imagine, so this reminder may be yours as well as mine:

IMG_1542

He was my wake up call, for the upcoming year at least;

the reason today, i will come back to life:

I found my next plan in life, after a long time of ‘settling back home’ and into my new career path, and i have just taken my first ACTION towards it, as we speak.

I was scared of sharing my “plan” in life now, with others, i did only yesterday with my sister, but here i am today, having received my sign/this message..

I am aiming for the USA now, for another Masters and/or PhD in Public Policy, one of the most renowned universities and this here will hold me accountable to you- i need to tell you where I am when i am there. How about that?

This is huge to me at least, BIG. In my head, it’s a NO NO, you’ll never make it- you haven’t the money, the connections, the knowledge even – imagine how much i am doubting myself here! 

But now, i am not scared, every human being has a way of getting around things or going where they want to be, even if it’s to the same place i or you want to be.. so be it, I am doing this my way and the world has enough place for the all of Us, YES.

We all have dreams, and secret wishes, and aspirations, ambitions, tons of things we feel we will never reach, not in this life we say, no i can’t, it’s too far-fetched, others won’t let me, i am no genius, why would i make it… 

STOP, STOP! STOP these thoughts.

I share my urgent message here with you:

  1. How easy is it for us to dwell on the status quo especially in our professional life? – to me, VERY Easy to be honest, true, personal, current story.

2. How easily do we lose track of what we’re doing, forget the bigger picture, and find all our time, nights in , nights out, our energy, and focus, is being spent, surprisingly willingly, on a place or job or position we know we will not hold forever, or for the number of years or months to come – I have been ‘settling’, thinking I’m doing what i need to do for the past 7 months. I hate that i now realized this, but it’s okay.  IT’S NEVER EVER TOO LATE TO WAKE UP, TO DO THINGS THAT MATTER.

3. Why do we invest so much time on the wrong things and much less on the things that we KNOW will take us to where we want to be, to out utmost potential, to the best that we know we can be? –

the only person standing in front of your dreams, and/or making your current reality or transition rather seem that it is the permanent is YOU. 

yes, i have heard and read this far too many times, but today, i live and breathe it. today, may 23rd 2016 like never before.

I cannot emphasize it more this morning, I needed to “wake up”, to see that what i am doing now, i am grateful for yes indeed i am, but:

it’s a “stepping stone”, and a stepping stone is not supposed to pull me/us down; rather, it’s a step-push-UP for us, to reach for the higher grapes up on the vine.

 

IMG_1537

I went on a beautiful hike yesterday, only me and this nature. Perspective is what i gained, what counts and what does not, what i need to do, take a step back from my routine and then  lean into the actions i need to be the best that i can be – which is ALOT i am that confident.

I love you my people, for always listening, and sharing your thoughts through my good day email chain, or our  email correspondences, face to face, or my social media accounts.

You change my life and make my days, every day. I am thankful, forever.

Truly yours,

Joy.

May 23, 2016; 9am

One thought on “Wake up Call

  1. Joy,
    You have my very best wishes for your plans in the USA, and I wish you the very best for your Masters and/or PhD in Public Policy. If the determination and positivity you show in your blog are anything to go by (and I believe that they are) then you will more than succeed in your plans.
    Kind regards – Robert.
    Oh, and that hike photograph is beautiful – thanks so much for sharing it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

