Quotes of the Day :)

Hello My People,

I’ve missed you. Truly. How have you been?

How is life going for you? I would really love to know, even if a few words down the comment box, cause you’re My People:

the more i reveal myself here to you publicly, the more life is opening up to me  and i believe the same can happen to you.. hence my blog’s name/life motto since my life-changing accident here in December 2014.

🙂

Okay so, before i begin to ramble on with my news like my weird self usually does when i miss you people here:$:) oups did i just say that out loud..:O

I’ll first stay honest to my post’s title and share two quotes I fell in love with today.

[Photos taken by myself, during my 2 group hikes these past 2 weekends to 2 towns: Tannourine and Baalbeck, Lebanon].

~

“I shall pass this way but once; any good, therefore, that I can do or any kindness that I can show to any human being, let me do it now. Let me not defer nor neglect it, for I shall not pass this way again.”   – Dale Carnegie, How to Win Friends and Influence People.

IMG_1356
Beautiful Tannourine – magical scenery

I consider my ability to arouse enthusiasm among my people the greatest asset I possess, and the way to develop the best that is in a person is by appreciation and encouragement” – Charles Schwab: President of the United States Steel Company, featured in Dale Carnegie’s How to Win Friends and Influence People.

 

~

I have a lot going on at work, the most excited about are the interventions and speakers i.e. industry professionals I am planning to invite to our university within the month of May 2016 for my first and second year undergrads.

To be honest, it’s almost the end of the semester/lectures, and I had completely pushed away every idea to bring in that first, inspiring Marketing Professional I told you about in my Blog Post “A secret Ingredient – Lesson#2“;

I was just drained, my mind was screaming something that may be too familiar to you too, to all of us:

it’s too late; 

it’s very hectic;

no you can’t do it, you’ve never done something like this before;

you don’t have the time to coordinate; 

you’ll definitely embarrass yourself;

it won’t work; it’s too rushed;

nobody will show up; 

nobody’s there to help you out; 

on and on and on….

Notice the negative energy i was dissipating? familiar?

No wonder I settled for my status quo for weeks now,  & I would still probably be stuck there, as I almost gave up on my little baby project of a speaker for students.

But then:

That negativity… it’s a YOU that is tired, one who needs the sleep, rest, and self-care even though all three feel like the least you have time for or willing to dedicate time for right now.

Well, today, i somehow suppressed all negativity. Why? How?

Call me crazy or an over-interpreter of  facts, perhaps, but I assure you: frequently and recurring-ly now I have noticed that

When I took the time (like i actually did these 2 days and today) to do the tiniest act of kindness, be good to someone else, send the most genuine and spontaneous emails, Facebook messages, initiate the talk, or gestures to people in my circle – and mind you, I did and got overwhelming replies to all of them;

When I allowed my authentic self to share something kind with those around me;

A new door opened up in MY life. 

It’s like I’m experiencing Karma nonstop … with all Karma being good deeds coming back to you!

This time, it was the door to me offering my students exposure that can change their lives by linking them with industry professionals at such an early career path and age.

I left the office today, having kicked off my work for the day at 3.30 am from home, to a 6.30am at the Costa Coffee Shop near my workplace, where I worked on drafting final assessments and marking others, in parallel to prepping my remaining lectures. One quick thought I’d love to share with you people on this hectic day and week really:

Today, I got a huge sign; a person popped up in my office, and the conversation went in all the ways it shouldn’t have developed, and we ended up chatting for an hour on how to work together.

All the good things so far happened, since the weekend when I invested in others, and continued to do so until today. All those signs are coincidences?

Nope;

My Faith interprets otherwise; that’s just me, but I was/am simply reaping the effect/karma of  humble words and pieces of me shared heartily with my people -new and existing ones.

I promise you, life opens up paths that you never ever see coming your way;

It does that:

Just when I (you) start investing IN my (your) people, finding it in you to give out a little piece of ‘you’ to them…lovingly, intentionally, openly, and as simply;

This weekend has shown me: 

Other Human beings, strangers, professionals, or mundane people, we are all more accessible than ever,

We all just need a little self-nudge forward to reach out to find a common, genuine interest in each other, and to realize we actually get along just fine, even with those we fear the most or judge as the ‘worst’ acquaintances even before investing in them for a few minutes to see what they’re about.

IMG_1319.JPG

If I were to type out here and think out loud all the individuals I have met “randomly” these 2 weeks specifically, and who could really support the specific projects I have taken on these past 2 weeks for my students and institution,

you wouldn’t even believe me if I told you how many of those are now “key persons” whose presence and/or insights are needed for my operations and activities upcoming. And, I will tap their knowledge, knowing they will already agree to help me because of my little ‘investing in’ them, when our life paths crossed again.

They are “the one” – all of them appeared at a time when I consciously: remembered, chose, and carried at heart, a strong desire and spontaneity to spread some kindness and authenticity to others, my people.

I hope this makes sense to you as it does to me really, i do because these lessons in bold above shared here are literally changing my life every  single day, not exaggerating.

🙂

Truly yours,

Joy

May 10, 2016; 11.35pm 

 

 

One thought on “Quotes of the Day :)

Leave a Reply

